2012 Athlete of the Year - Tyler Miller

Team Canada - Wheelchair basketball

Updated Monday September 18, 2017 by Kitchener Sports Association.




Photo: Tyler Miller and friend, Eva Papadopoulos, pose with Tyler's 2012 Athlete of the Year trophy. (KSA's Athlete of the Year Dinner, May 21, 2013)






2012 Athlete of the Year

Tyler Miller

Wheelchair Basketball

Soon after being introduced to the sport in 2007, Tyler Miller found a place on a junior club team in his hometown of Kitchener, Ontario. He later earned a roster spot on the Ontario provincial team and won a bronze and two silver medals at the Canadian national championships. In 2011, he won a national title with Variety Village at the Canadian Wheelchair Basketball League finals.

Miller enjoys wheelchair basketball because of the exhilaration of competition and the opportunity that on any given day any team has a chance at success. The rough contact and physicality of the game is not something that he shies away from.

Miller is a hardworking, dedicated athlete. Both of those qualities were on full display when he made his debut with the Canadian Men’s National Team at the World Championships in 2010. He also won a bronze medal with Canada at the 2011 Parapan American Games. He earned a full-time roster spot on the national squad in 2012.

In 2012, Miller competed in his first Paralympic Games in London, England, where Team Canada captured the gold medal.


Click on photo to pause/activate slideshow, enlarge photo and/or read the caption. (Adobe FlashPlayer is required.)

 Other nominees for the award were:

Chelsea Aubry, basketball (Kitchener)

Maddie Buttinger, track & field (Waterloo)

Kory Lorentz, standing amputee hockey (St Clements)

Dustn Miller, long track speed skating (Kitchener)

Garrett Rank, golf (Elmira)

Leah Robinson, track & field (Mannheim)

Mark Scheifele, hockey (Kitchener)

Each nominee has a cheque presented to a sports (or charity) organization of the nominee’s choosing. KSA made donations as per the following:
Chelsea Aubry - KW Youth Basketball
Maddie Buttinger - Laurel Creek Track & Field Club
Kory Lorentz - Twin Centre Minor Hockey Association
Dustin Miller - KW Sertoma Speed Skating Club
Tyler Miller - Twin City Spinners Wheelchair Sports
Garrett Rank - Woolwich Minor Hockey Association
Leah Robinson - Laurel Creek Track & Field Club
Mark Scheifele - HeadStrong
and, from the Athlete of the Year Program – Camp McGovern

Awards of Excellence recipients:

Gerhard Griebenow (gymnastics) – Waterloo

Team – Kitchener Jr B Dutchmen Hockey Team

Organization – K-W Predators Volleyball Club

More on these Awards of Excellence

This article has No Comments.
Be the first to add your comments!
Click the "Post a New Comment" button below.
firstname lastname commented Just Now

You must be a member of the League and logged in to post comments. Login here.